Ordered Steps

English: AMC Theatres Promenade 16, a 16-audit...

AMC Theatres Promenade 16, a 16-auditorium movie theater or multiplex.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

By now everyone has heard about the tragedy in Colorado at the movie theater. I have been praying for the families of all of the victims and I’m sure many of you have been to.

Yesterday, I had a very unusual experience. I was hesitant to share this because I can’t prove it, but I think I need to share this story for some other intercessor. God gave me a revelation of what it means to stand in the gap.

After the shooting, I must admit I was a bit hesitant to go to the movies. I can’t explain why other than the fact that I go to the movies pretty frequently and I have a habit of ALWAYS sitting on the left side in the fourth row. So I decided to go to see the Batman movie on Saturday as planned but still felt quite uneasy which I did not understand. I have always felt safe at my local movie theater, but I’m sure the people in Aurora did also.

All the while going to the theater I felt danger. I asked God to order my steps and instead of going to the 11 am show, I opted for the 12:45pm show (I never go at night). I arrived at the theater early and sat down and scanned the entire audience and then I heard a man clear his throat on my left side behind me and all I can say is I felt danger in my spirit. I looked back and he was in the last row. Within minutes he moved to the front row and plugged his phone in and kept looking toward the front exit. Big red flag. I thought to myself “really Lord?” Honestly, I considered leaving and asked the Lord if I should. The man was carrying a little black bag (kind of odd) and then he sat down. Honestly he was acting very strange and I was not being paranoid. I still felt very uneasy.I got up and went to the bathroom since the movie had not started. when I returned I changed my seat and sat toward the back which is something I never do. By then the man changed his seat again. I moved all the way to the last row because that is how I felt. So I started talking to the people around me and mentioned it and one lady said “did he move again??” So, I said, something about this man is creeping me out and both a lady and a man looked right at me and said ” YOU SHOULD SAY SOMETHING”, meaning to management. They both said it twice. To me it’s was like God speaking. So I got up and while walking out I met an employee and explained what I was feeling. Of course he looked at me like I was being paranoid, but didn’t ignore what I said.

Within three minutes, two managers and three employees gathered in the back of the theater and started discussing what they were going to do. One manager went down and said something to the man about his bag and phone and checked the exit door. They stayed a while and watched him (trust me, you can tell when someone is acting strange and he looked and acted strange).

The employees then left and soon a huge, burly man came in and sat right behind the man two seats to the left. I can’t prove it but I felt it was significant. All the while I was praying and pleading the blood of Jesus over the theater and the people.

When the movie finally started, I was watching the man but then I finally felt a peace and settled in and started watching the movie. Of course while sitting in the dark, I could not help but think about all of those helpless people in that theater in Colorado, but I was able to enjoy the movie, which by the way was PHENOMENAL!!

When I told my prayer partner and my brother, we all felt that God had strategically placed me to pray and alert management. I am not saying he was going to shoot up the theater, but he appeared unstable and I will say that this experience showed me as intercessors God will order our steps and strategically send us to a place, to stand in the gap also.

People seem to think, “well it happened and it won’t happen again”, or it’s not going to happen at my neighborhood theater. Well, again, I’m sure that is what they thought in Colorado. As Christians we need to be vigilant and pray wherever we go. Let’s not walk around in lala land, oblivious to our surroundings and especially for those of us who are called to the ministry of intercession. Pray before you leave the house and ask God to order your steps for your protection or for God us for intervention!

1 Peter 5:8

King James Version (KJV)

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

Ephesians 6:12

King James Version (KJV)

12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

4 thoughts on “Ordered Steps

  1. I stand in agreement. I’ve had those feelings too and have felt the need to stand in the gap. Doing so can really make a difference. We will never know.

    God bless all the families affected by such a terrible crime. May His mercy be with the alleged shooter as well. In such a dark world we live in, we really need the Light of Jesus to shine through and let righteousness take over.

  2. Your story is not far-fetched. I was in prayer one day and began praying for a little girl who was held against her will in a basement. I even saw her face. I just kept praying thinking if it was my brain misfiring, there is someone somewhere who is kidnapped so either way, someone was prayed for. That week I read that a missing girl was found in a basement and she fit the description of the little one I saw while praying. I was in shock but remembered the gift of interceding is not just to pray for those we know; there are strangers who need prayer too. You have inspired me to go deeper and stay on my face more because I need to be available to be used when God wants to. Thank you!

    • That is an awesome story. I struggled with sharing this story, but I KNOW by the spirit something was up, especially after those two people looked me right in the face and said SAY SOMETHING. Whatever it was, was stopped. Praise God that you are inspired. There are higher heights and deeper depths in God! Blessing my sister!

Leave a comment