Subtle Killers

I’ve shared that last summer I got a scary health diagnosis and was forced to make some permanent changes in my diet. As of today I have lost about 50 pds, thank you Jesus! I will share more of that story very soon after I get complete victory!

Well the last time I went to the doctor, my blood pressure was severely elevated. Actually the Lord had kind of warned me. I had been very disciplined with my diet, but had to go out of town to a funeral and ended up eating all of the wrong foods, because I ate what had been prepared. After that trip it was like I “fell off the wagon” because it took be more than a week to get back to my healthier eating. It was right after that trip that I went to the doctor. Although I knew I should be careful of salt, I was not being mindful of it.

I now pay attention to both salt and sugar and honestly there are times when I feel like there is nothing that I can eat. Just yesterday I decided to look up the sodium content on a Dominos VEGGIE sandwich and I was stunned, shocked and saddened to see that the sandwich, has a whooping 2050 mgs of salt in the ONE sandwich!!! I was reading that for women the daily requirement of sodium is 2,300 mg (don’t believe that).

I was watching a show the other day about India and a lady was hosting Oprah in her home and she shared how it is looked down upon to use processed foods in India. Everything is cooked from scratch. Yes, it’s time consuming, but this, I believe is the proper way of eating. I want to challenge you especially is you are a wife or mother to begin to look at the sodium and sugar content of the foods you are giving your family and of course this applies to us single girls as well.

God warned me a couple of years ago about how I was eating. It was mindless and I didn’t really care about what I was putting in my mouth. Unfortunately, I am now paying a price for that. But thankfully, I am able to reverse many of the problems I have and slowly but surely, I am doing so. Here is the thing with Christians. A lot of us don’t drink and smoke, but the one thing we do a lot of is eat and unless we begin to make adjustments now, we are going to be headed toward a slow death.

I want to challenge you to begin to makes some changes NOW. And certainly as a mother, this is very important. Right now Type 2 diabetes is an epidemic with children. The manufacters of all this processed junk don’t care. But God cares and He is warning His people. For someone, this is a real warning today. You can’t eat a deli sandwich everyday. It’s going to kill you!

I know most of us can’t envision our lives without fast-food, but start trying to do it. Right now, I’m eating like a bird…but the adjustments that I have made are FOR LIFE. They are not temporary. I desire to live the rest of my days healthy and strong! What about you??

1 Corinthians 3:16-17

New International Version (NIV)

16 Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst? 17 If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy that person; for God’s temple is sacred, and you together are that temple.

11 thoughts on “Subtle Killers

  1. great post. I also struggle with food! Making things from scratch is a lot of work but I realized it’s my JOB as a mom and wife. And that scripture is also what I think about…we are the temple.

Leave a comment